Eat Great, Feel Better: Small Choices Lead to Big Changes

For this week’s post, I wanted to give an example of how I have been making minor adjustments to incorporate healthy meals into my diet. *Most ingredients for these recipes aligned with my budget-friendly grocery list.*

Breakfast:avocado toast

After my daily cup of coffee with almond milk, I made an egg white omelet with spinach, diced mushrooms, diced tomatoes and Feta cheese crumbles. I paired the low-calorie omelet with a piece of wheat toast with avocado slices and paprika.

Snack 1:

Usually I will  try to have two or three small snacks between my meals. I had about a ½ cup of roasted almonds and ½ cup of craisins. It wasn’t too filling and it gave me enough of a pick-me-up until lunch!

Lunch:

I was on campus during this time and I chose to get food from Wildgreens. I asked for a wrap with grilled chicken breast, spring mix, red and yellow peppers, parmesan cheese, diced onions and tomatoes. For a little extra protein, I asked for chickpeas. I usually get balsamic vinaigrette in my wrap, but I opted for oil and red wine vinegar. I also got a fruit cup filled with raspberries, blackberries, and Kiwi from Pinkberry.

Snack 2:larabar

I knew I was going to be busy later in the day, so I brought myself a Coconut cream pie Larabar. Larabars are really nutritious, have only about five ingredients, and are only around 200 calories!

Dinner:

I decided to get a little creative with my dinner tonight by making a seared ahi tuna salad paired with cauliflower fried “rice.” My friend Cat made this meal for me once and I wanted to recreate it myself! This recipe makes enough for two people or you can save the rest for another day.

Cauliflower Fried “Rice”

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 small sweet onion (diced)
  • 4 large carrots (diced) or 1 can of carrots
  • 1 cup of frozen green peas
  • Sesame oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons of Low-sodium soy sauce

Directions:

  1. Finely chop the cauliflower or put it in a food processor for a few seconds
  2. Heat a pan/wok with enough sesame oil to cover the entire surface
  3. sauté the carrots, onions, and cauliflower for about 6-7 minutes to lightly brown them.
  4. Add peas and soy sauce; cook for another 2-3 minutes
  5. Scramble both eggs in a separate pan, then add the eggs to the “rice” mixture
  6. Cook all of it together for about 5 minutes

Seared Ahi Tuna Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of spring mix
  • 1 diced tomato
  • 1/2 a diced red onion
  • Pickled ginger (optional)
  • Asian salad dressing (from store)
  • 2 ahi tuna steaks
  • Sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat skillet with roughly 2 tablespoons of sesame oil
  2. Season your tuna steaks with 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of pepper, and 1 tablespoon of lime juice
  3. Sear each side of the tuna steaks for about 2.5 minutes for medium rare. (rare≈2 minutes and medium≈3 minutes)
  4. Prepare your salad with the spring mix, tomatoes, onions, ginger, and top with your sliced or diced tuna steak
  5. Drizzle your preferred amount of Asian salad dressing
  6. Enjoy!

thumbnail_IMG_9437

I planned out my meals the night before to save some time and make sure I was eating relatively healthy. I tried my hardest to make sure I consumed the recommended servings of each food group (It gets a little difficult sometimes with a busy schedule), but overall I felt energized and satisfied all day!

Leave a Reply

